Friday

“Life is short, live it. Love is rare, grab it. Anger is bad, dump it. Fear is awful, face it. Memories are sweet, cherish it” – Unknown

 

TGIF! But really… it’s been a long long long week. I’m exhausted and still have so much work for the rest of the day and weekend. 

 

But enough of the sad, poor me bull. I read that little quote I post above online somewhere and for some reason it struck a chord with me. I’m not really sure why because it is corny as all hell, but I like it. As corny and cheesy as it is, it has meaning and truth. Sometimes I forget these things. I forget that I can love, forget that the only way to eliminate fears is to face them, forget that 95% of the time I’m angered for no reason, and that I have a good life with good memories with good people. 

 

See, it’s so much easier to focus and examine the bad and we as a human race always forget to look at the good in life. Let’s be honest, what help it is to focus on the bad shit in life? IT ISN’T ANY GOOD! Sure your learn from your failures and I truly believe that, but you live through your successes. There comes a time when you need to let go of the bad and focus on the good. Without the goodness in life, there’s no point or no chance in living. In fact if you depressed and miserable all the time your really not living, your just being. It’s taken me a long time to learn that and trust me I’m not all there yet, but I’m starting to get it. Continuing to victimize yourself (myself because that’s what I do) isn’t going to help me in the short term or long term: it’s only going to make me feel like shit. It’s good to acknowledge the bad, dirty, ugly, depressing times in life and it’s even more important to acknowledge the good, clean, beautiful, happy times in life too. I’m sure you’ve all heard the express “You can’t have a rainbow without a little rain” and I again, I believe that. But if all your thinking about is the rain, then how in the hell can you enjoy a rainbow?

 

Just something to think about on this lovely, actually quite shitty, Friday afternoon.

 

 

