Monday

Happy Monday ya’ll!

I actually don’t mind Mondays unlike most people. I feel like it gives me a fresh start to forget all the crap that happened last week and prepare myself for a good week. Especially this week! Because all I need to do is silly work stuff, aka nothing, and pack for my vacation! So so so happy to be going away to Cancun with my family. It will be interesting given our family dynamic and the fact my father and I don’t ever see eye to eye on anything. But at least I will finally be reunited with my long lost brother on a beach in Mexico. AND one of my really good friends will be there with her family, double score. Going on vacation also gives me a good excuse to get a facial, gel mani pedi, and haircut ๐Ÿ™‚

One thing that has been coming up quite a bit between my and my mother lately because of this trip is weight. Now my mom isn’t really fat, I mean she’s a little overweight but nothing too drastic or super unhealthy. So because we planned this trip my mom decided she was going to finally start hitting the gym and eating right so she can wear a bathing suite in Mexico. Don’t get me wrong, I’m extremely proud of her because this is a really hard thing for her to do. I love her to pieces, but she sucks at working out and watching what she eats. Anyway, she keeps saying “why haven’t I lost any weight?”, “why are the numbers on the scale the same?”, ย and my favorite “I just wish I could lose a little more”. It kind of bothers me given my history with anorexia but she’s not taking it to the extreme like I did.

So what’s the big deal? Well, the numbers on the scale may not have changed much and she might not really feel different but she looks great! I’m not just saying that because shes my mom but she does look so much better then she did before. “It’s not about the numbers” I keep telling her and she yells back saying “look who’s talking!” Ouch, that’s a burn. Not really but I like to make her think so sometimes ๐Ÿ˜‰ But seriously, it isn’t about the numbers which is what I really wanted to talk about.

A healthy amount of weight to lose per week is from 1-3 pounds and depends on a LOT of different variables, age, gender, caloric intake vs caloric output,, type of food your eating, and metabolism for starters. Another important fact to keep in mind is that if you are doing weight strengthening, aka your lift relatively heavy weights for your physical level, and not just cardio: your weight probably will not change! This isn’t because you aren’t working hard enough but because what you lift weights you are building muscle and muscle as we all know weighs MORE than fat. So when you lift weights your muscle is growing and taking over fat cells, awesome right? I bet that if she did a fat percentage measurement they wouldn’t be nearly the same as before she started working out because she’s built up muscle and dropped fat percentage.

As long as your exercising healthily, eating a balanced diet, and getting enough sleep because without sleep your body doesn’t function properly, then your doing all of the right things. The number on the scale truthfully doesn’t matter, besides who is honestly going to say “so how much did you lose this week.” But people will say “wow, you look great” even if the scale actually changed or not.

The bottom line is to feel good about YOURSELF, not your number.

Take care loves!

